<< First  < Prev   1   2   3   Next >  Last >> 
  • 02/08/2023 11:18 AM | Steve Herchko (Administrator)

    The Florida Chapter of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (FLAAPM) is seeking nominations for 2 officer positions including treasurer and president-elect.

    The treasurer is responsible for all financial transactions of the chapter. The term of office is three years. 

    The term of office for the presidential chain is three years.

    Nominations are open to full members of the chapter. There are also no sub-specialty restrictions for the presidential chain this cycle.  Please submit all nominations to the Nominating Committee Chair and FLAAPM Past-President Debbie Schofield ( by 3pm on March 1, 2023. Ballots will be prepared and sent out for voting by the chapter membership.  Election results will be announced at the annual business meeting on April 29, 2023.

  • 12/20/2022 10:32 AM | Steve Herchko (Administrator)

    As we plan for the upcoming FLAAPM Spring Chapter Meeting, we are seeking requests for topics and/or speakers. If you have something you’d like to share or hear about, please email FLAAPM President-Elect Perry Johnson at for review.

    Please note, this call for topics/speakers is separate from the student competition which has a different submission process.

    The FLAAPM Spring Chapter Meeting will be held in Orlando, FL in the Spring 2023. The specific dates and location are currently being finalized.

  • 08/26/2022 12:57 PM | Steve Herchko (Administrator)

    Registration for the 2022 FLAAPM Fall meeting is open. Please visit the Events page to register and find additional details.

  • 08/03/2022 1:18 PM | Steve Herchko (Administrator)

    The 2022 FLAAPM Fall meeting will be held virtually on Thursday, September 15th (full day) and Friday September 16th (half day). Meeting registration will be available soon. 

  • 05/25/2022 9:10 AM | Steve Herchko (Administrator)

    The Florida Chapter of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (FLAAPM) is seeking nominations for the officer position of Representative to the Association. The Representative to the Association represents the Chapter on the national level (Board of Directors) and serves as the liaison between the chapter and national association. This position carries a term of three years beginning on January 1st, 2023.

    Please submit all nominations to Nominating Committee Chair and FLAAPM Past-President Debbie Schofield ( by Friday, June 3rd, 2022. Ballots will then be prepared and sent out for voting by the chapter membership, and election results will be announced via email.

  • 12/06/2021 9:45 AM | Steve Herchko (Administrator)

    The 2022 Spring meeting will be held IN PERSON in Orlando, FL at the Rosen Plaza Hotel on 3/10/22-3/12/2022. Registration and more details will be available soon.

  • 08/10/2021 2:35 PM | Steve Herchko (Administrator)

    The 2021 FLAAPM Fall Meeting will be held virtually via Zoom on Friday September 17th, 2021. Meeting registration and a preliminary agenda are available on the events page.

  • 01/18/2021 12:41 PM | Steve Herchko (Administrator)

    All students attending a Florida-based Medical Physics program are encouraged to submit abstracts for the 2021 FL AAPM Spring Meeting. The top submissions will be invited to give a 15-minute oral presentation and compete for prizes.  The 15-minute time slot will consist of a 12-minute presentation followed by a 3-minute question and answer session.  Due to the virtual nature of the meeting, all selected presentations must be pre-recorded and submitted in advance of the meeting (deadline of March 8, 2021).  Presenters must be present (on-line) during the meeting for a live Q&A following your presentation.

    Please email your abstract (300-word limit) to Deborah Schofield at Include the following in your submission:

    SUBJECT:                 FLAAPM ABSTRACT
    BODY OF EMAIL:   Contact information, author, institution, and title
    ATTACHMENT:        Attach a
    BLINDED copy (no author or institution identifiers) of the abstract and title as an attachment in either word or pdf format. An optional 1-page supporting document may also be included (in addition to the abstract).

    Important Dates:
    Abstract submission deadline:
                Midnight on February 3, 2021
    Abstract disposition notification:        February 8, 2021
    Presentation Submission Deadline:    March 8, 2021 (for the selected presentations)


    3rd Place:        Cash Prize

    2nd Place:        Cash Prize

    1st Place:       The student will be sponsored (airfare*, 2 nights hotel**, and a 1-day student registration) to represent our chapter at the AAPM National meeting MedPhys Slam competition in Cleveland, Ohio.  (Note:  Due to the fluid nature surrounding Covid-19, a scholarship of equivalent value will be provided if the national meeting is converted to a virtual event)

  • 01/18/2021 12:33 PM | Steve Herchko (Administrator)

    The spring meeting of the FL AAPM will be held virtually via zoom on 11-12 March 2021.  Highlights of the upcoming meeting include:

    • 1.0 hour of Medical Errors CE
    • 1.0 hour of HIV/AIDS CE
    • Presentation by the AAPM President-Elect, J. Daniel Bourland, PhD, FAAPM
    • Florida Regulatory Updates
    • Dedicated therapy and diagnostic tracks.  The tracks will run at separate times, increasing the potential number of CME hours that can be earned during the meeting. 
    • Student abstracts will also be considered for presentation.  The winner of the student competition will represent our chapter in the MedPhys Slam competition at the National AAPM meeting. 

    Meeting registration and a final agenda will be available soon.

  • 12/11/2020 2:27 PM | Steve Herchko (Administrator)

    The FLAAPM chapter officers play an important role in managing chapter affairs and organizing two local meetings a year. The FLAAPM board is run by member volunteers who serve a 3-year term on the board.  There are currently two open position for 2021: President Elect (Diagnostic Physicist based on rotation) and Secretary. Any chapter member in good standing may nominate himself or herself to either position by contacting the nominating committee chair and chapter past-president Omar Zeidan at

    Candidates are encouraged to provide a brief bio sketch and indicate which position they would like to be nominated for. All nominations must be received by February 5th, 2021. Ballots will be provided by February 19th and last day to vote online will be March 8th, 2021.   The new elected officers will  be announced at the conclusion of the Spring Business Meeting (March 12th, 2021) and assume their new roles immediately after. For more information about the roles of each board member, please visit the chapter constitution and bylaws at

<< First  < Prev   1   2   3   Next >  Last >> 


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software